7 February 2023 09:48

Alana Haines Australasian Awards 2023

For four days in April, 400 dancers will compete for $400,000 of awards and prize money in the Australasian Dance Awards.

The biannual dance competition is set to showcase the talent of young dancers ages 11-18, with scholarships to prestigious dance schools up for grabs. A panel of international judges will deliberate over the weekend and then preside over a Grand Final at the St James Theatre on Monday 10 April. Joined by guest performers from the Royal New Zealand Ballet, New Zealand School of Dance, and Ballet Collective Aotearoa, entertaining across the evening.

Wellingtonian dancer Alana Haines was 11 years old when she tragically died in a car accident on Christmas Eve 1989. Since the inaugural 1991 competition held in her honour, the Alana Haines Australasian Awards has grown to the largest of its kind in Australasia.

Pictured above are previous winner Kohana Williams, who is now in the Hamburg Ballet, Germany.  Photo: Amber Griffin


For ticket information please go to Alana Haines Australasian Dance Awards - WellingtonNZ.com