14+ Dance Scholarship Foundation

The 14+ Dance Scholarship Foundation was incorporated in 2004 to establish, fund and maintain scholarship programmes to promote the practice and understanding of dance throughout New Zealand. Scholarships are awarded annually to teachers for further training, and at a biennial event to talented RAD dancers showing outstanding ability and potential.

In 2004, 14 was the minimum number of Founder members required to ensure funding for the first 10 years of the RAD Scholarship Programme.  26 pledged to the vision which was a ‘plus’, hence the name 14+ Dance Scholarship Foundation.  To fund the biennial event whilst ensuring the longevity of this programme,  the generous support of donors is essential.

Scholarships and Awards


This award of $8,000 was established in 2004 to recognise the most outstanding dancer at the biennial event.  Originally called the 14+ Dance Scholarship Award it was renamed the INSPIRE Award in 2024.



Elvira Macrae Award

In 2013 Elvira Macrae, a former very successful RAD teacher in Tauranga, made a generous donation to provide a further award of $6,000. A second substantial donation in 2020 led to the creation of the Gloria Macrae Finalists’ Awards, which are presented to the finalists of the 14+ event


Sir Jon Trimmer Award

In 2006 the Alexander Grant Award was established to honour Alexander Grant CBE, a celebrated New Zealand dancer. In 2024 the 14+ Dance Scholarship Foundation Trustees renamed the Award The Sir Jon Trimmer Award in recognition of another acclaimed NZ Dancer.  Sir Jon trained in the RAD syllabi, excelling in exams including the prestigious Solo Seal in 1953.  He has been an inspiration, teacher and mentor to generations of dancers and dance enthusiasts and this is a very fitting way to pay tribute to his enormous contribution. This award is for $4,000

Creina Gee Memorial Award

In 2006 the family of Creina Gee, former NZ RAD dance teacher and examiner, established the Creina Gee Memorial Award to provide financial assistance for dance teachers or trainee dance teachers to undertake courses of study.


Since 2004, The Foundation has awarded over $188,000 to students and teachers.

From the alumni of the three major awards, seven are currently dancing with a professional company and six have danced professionally and are now retired from performing; eight awards were used to fund studies in Australia and eight at the NZ School of Dance.

Become a donor

In order to ensure the continuation and strengthening of the 14+ Dance Scholarship Foundation into the future, we need donors. Support the dance community and fledging dance talent in NZ by committing to be part of our donation programme.

How to Support

Ways you can help the Foundation support the dance community are by:


Come on board as an official sponsor. We have several packages available please contact the trustees info@rad.org.nz for more information.



Making a donation

Every contribution, big or small, helps us provide quality dance education and training. Click on the link below to make a donation.



Leaving a gift in your will

By including a gift to the 14+ Dance Scholarship Foundation in your plans, you will support our charitable trust to conitnue to support, future dancers with their training.



Establishing an Award or Scholarship

Help us recognize and support talented dancers by establishing an award or scholarship in your name or in honor of someone special.




INSPIRE 14+ Dance Scholarship Biennial event and awards

Held Biennially, the Inspire 14+ Dance Scholarship Awards offer scholarships for up and coming dancers in New Zealand. The next Inspire event is on Sunday 8th September 2024 in Wellington. Tickets go on sale 26th July 2024
Click here for more information

A Brief History

History of the RAD Overseas Scholarship, 14+ Dance Scholarship Foundation, Alexander Grant Training Award, Elvira Macrae Award, Gloria Macrae Finalists' Award and Creina Gee Memorial…
Read more

14+ Patron and Trustees

Anne Rowse ONZM Anne began her professional career as a dancer with London's Festival Ballet (now English National Ballet). She danced with them for 10…
Read more

14+ Winners From 2004 Onwards

Read more

Elvira Macrae Award

recipients from 2014 onwards. In 2013 Elvira Macrae, a former very successful RAD teacher resident in Tauranga, generously donated a substantial sum of money to…
Read more

Sir Jon Trimmer Award

Jon Trimmer rehearsing in 1967, photo courtesy of The Royal New Zealand Ballet   In 2024 the 14+ Dance Scholarship Foundation Trustees agreed to rename…
Read more

Alexander Grant Award

In 2006 the Alexander Grant Award was established to honour Alexander Grant CBE, a celebrated New Zealand dancer, to be awarded to a New Zealand…
Read more

Creina Gee Memorial Award

Creina Gee, a very much-loved and respected former New Zealand teacher of ballet and member of the Royal Academy of Dance Examining panel, died in…
Read more

14+ Alumni

Watch a video of the History of the 14+ with messages for the RAD Centenary from Alumni
Read more

RAD Overseas Bursary Winners From 1941 to 2002

Read more