The Genée

The Genée International Ballet Competition, named after RAD’s first president Dame Adeline Genée DBE, is our flagship annual event.

Find out more about the 2019 Genée Competition, which was held in Toronto, Canada, and be inspired by previous Genée stories. You can find out all of the information you need about Genée 2019 as well as learn about the Genée’s rich history and fascinating past competitions.

NZ Medallists and Finalists 1947-1999 – Genee 1947-1999

NZ Medallists and Finalists 2000-2019

Year Name Medal
2000 Anita Hutchins Silver
Laura Tong Finalist
2012 Aurelian Child-De Brocas Gold
Kaena Ahern Silver
Ariana Hond Silver
Olivia James-Baird Finalist
Emma McBeth Finalist
Kelsey Stokes Finalist
2014 Vida Polakov Gold
2015 Madison Cronin Finalist
Jana Baldovino Choreographic Award
2017 Jemima Scott Finalist
2018 Monet Hewitt Gold